Oh The Dress!

We have a wedding to go to at the end of May, and as any woman knows, that means dress shopping. Something I hate to do because the cutest dresses are either too expensive or I can’t find one to fit me.

I had decided to sew one from a Vintage Vogue pattern. That is, until I discovered that it would cost me close to $100 for the pattern, the fabric and the closures. Not cool. I could buy one at Macy’s for that! Off I went to search for a cheaper pre-made dress. I had found one from Forever 21, but I still wanted to make my own! What’s a girl to do!

Now I have a few dresses I was going to donate. I loved the prints on them , but not so much the fit. Why donate when I can re-style them into something new!

Concept #1.

Sweetheart neckline, 2 inch wide halter strap, gathered bubble skirt, solid underskirt to add length. fabric would be from a black dress and a blue/white/black print dress. Total cost for me? Less than $10 for a zipper, thread and a ball point needle.

Concept #2

scoop neckline, A-line skirt, with a contrasting belt. Made from a black tank dress, and a green/black/yellow/grey print t-shirt dress. Total cost will be around $25, depending on the price of colored leather/other stiff fabric, belt closures, and thread.

I already know I’m going to make both, I just hae to wait for payday to get started. Hurry up Friday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pearl
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 09:14:29

    I love them both! Can’t wait to see them!!

  2. J
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 12:14:16

    Help ME!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

