~Adventures in mommy land~ The baby’s first tub bath

Several days ago Alyssa finally lost her cord stump. I figured this was a good time to give her a real bath.

It started out ok. She had just eaten and was in her calm happy place. I put her down and went to get all the washing tools. You know, the washcloths, towel, soap, ect. I filled up the tub with warm water and undressed Alyssa. I put her very slowly into the water, so I could see how she would react to it, and wet this terry cloth fish that keeps her warm while in the water. She didn’t seem to mind it at all. Then came the washcloth with the soap on it. I moves the fish to wash her, thinking that she would still be happy. I was wrong. She screamed the second the fish left her body. I washed her as quickly as I could, and pulled her out of the tub, only for the towel to fall off the counter. I set her back into the tub to fetch the towel and finally dried her off. She was still crying. After about five minutes of her frantically sucking on my finger, she finally fell asleep.

Mastering the bath  is going to be harder than I thought. Maybe if I’m lucky the next bath will be easier on me and more relaxing for Alyssa.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. J
    May 30, 2008 @ 15:35:27

    She is just gorgeous. I love that full-on cry face! CUTE!

  2. Dad
    May 31, 2008 @ 07:12:16

    I cry when I have to take a bath too.

Leave a Reply

