~Adventures in mommy land~ Cleaning the house

Before Alyssa was born cleaning the house was an hour long task on most days. It consisted of the usual vacuuming, doing dishes, cleaning the bathroom. You know. The normal stuff.

Cleaning is now an adventure in itself. Just yesterday I decided to take on this task. Alyssa was asleep so I did the dishes and made a pizza for Ben when he came home for lunch. After Ben left, Alyssa woke up. While I held her, I started to pull up the kitchen mat so I could mop the floor. That was when the maintance man showed up to put in a new AC, after two weeks of trying to cool the appartment down with the AC in our bedroom. When they left, I put Alyssas in the baby sling (an amazing invention. It’s a tube of fabric that folds in half so you can hold the baby hands free.) so I could mop finally. After mopping the floor, I went on to vacuum. By this time Alyssa was falling asleep in the sling, which I didn’t notice until I had finished vacuuming the living/dining room. I CAREFULLY took Alyssa out of the sling and put her in the pack-and play in the living room. I went and cleaned off the dining room table and went to do the same with the coffee table. Thats when Alyssa woke up again wanting to eat.

This is where my two hour “break” came in. I fed Alyssa, which usually takes about 40 minutes, and proceeded to rock her back to sleep. She wouldn’t have it. She was awake but content, so I tried to put her back down. Again, she wouldn’t have it. I ended up holding her until Ben came home from work.

I never did finish cleaning the rest of the appartment up. Something about cleaning the bathrooms while holding a baby in a sling just didn’t seem like a good idea. Maybe I’ll try to get those done when Alyssa goes back to sleep. (she just woke up after her extremely long half hour nap.)

Well, I’m off to play mommy again!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mom
    May 22, 2008 @ 08:30:21

    Yes, its a tough thing to acomplish. But whats most important right now is Alyssa. All the other thinks can wait.

  2. J
    May 26, 2008 @ 11:21:40

    Oh, yeah – the cobwells will wait, the dust can go to sleep…I am keeping my baby cuz babies don’t keep…

    That was part of some poem I used to read, but didn’t really believe. I do now, tho. Love her as much and as long as you can.

Leave a Reply

