No more personal space?

I have recently discovered that I no longer have any “personal space” while in public anymore. I don’t know what it is, but evidently there is something about a pregnate belly that screams “Come touch me!!!”

The little kids I don’t mind. They get curious, and their parents will ask if their children can feel the baby move. I’ve got no problems with that. At least they asked. What drives me insane is the people that come up to me, and put their hands on my stomach without asking! Friends are one thing, I’ve got no problems with them touching me, but strangers? Whats worse is the people that start asking me questions that I would expect from my doctor. I have no clue what to say to them.

I guess I’m just wondering, Why is it that complete strangers feel the need to invade my personal space? I wouldn’t go up to them and say “Now don’t you look like you are going to pop?” and proceed to put my hands on their belly. It’s just plain rude.

 shirt.png

I need a shirt like that!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanie
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 13:18:44

    Hahahha! That’s cute!

    I remember being mortified, when, as a very young mommy, a man at church I barely knew asked, “So are you breastfeeding?” YIKES!! Discussing my breasts?!? In church?!? With a man I barely knew!?!

    So, you know-you’ve got that to look forward to…

  2. mom
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 17:58:59

    You just look so cute babe. How can anyone resist that smile of yours. It says “yes, I’m very friendly and you don’t have to ask to touch my belly.” It is kind of funny. I never had anything like that happen to me.

  3. Heather
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 13:03:44

    Hey Audrey,

    You’re site is so pretty!

    I had stuff like that happen to me all the time. It was really weird when grown men would walk right up to me and grope my belly. It creeped me out!!!

    You’re right there should be a “No touchie T-shirt”…

    I would like to see that belly..I bet you do look absolutely adorable!

  4. Bryan
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 17:23:46

    Post some belly pictures I know you have them. Can I rub your belly?

  5. Marilyn
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 00:04:59

    Some people are really just plain wierd. You really are a beautiful young woman and your pregnacy just makes you glow. Enjoy every phase of your pregancy. I really kind of missed it after my babies were born.

Leave a Reply

